Mainz

Gartenquartier

Positive development in the city of Mainz necessitated the speedy earmarking of further urban areas for residential construction.

We managed to acquire an eight-storey office complex with an underground car park, known as the ‘Blauer Fritz’ (‘Blue Fritz’), as well as a plot on Wilhelm-Theodor-Römheld-Strasse used as a car park. The idea of creating a desirable residential area for families at this mixed commercial site was seen as a challenge – and proved to be a courageous and correct decision.

Together with the city of Mainz, we held an urban design competition, which was won by the architectural firm Giesler in 2014. Their urban planning concept envisaged the construction of large, stand-alone townhouses that run parallel to the road in two tiers. The open spaces evolve according to their function and are separated from the public areas on the road by a semi-public pocket park, which features communal amenities such as a playground and barbecue area in the upper section and extends all the way to the private gardens.

All 93 rental apartments on Wilhelm-Theodor-Römheld-Strasse were sold as a forward deal to the Stuttgart-based GWG Group. Prior to their completion, we mainly marketed the 100 freehold apartments to young families, meaning that the project consciously supports the transformation of this commercial quarter into a vibrant and diverse urban district.

Gartenquartier, Mainz

Weitere Projekte
Welfenhofe

München
Welfenhöfe

An urban planning competition - winning team 03 Architekten - planned the development of an inner ...

More

heimat_hafen

Mainz
Heitmat.Hafen

MAG had already acquired the site, which is located in a unique location at the beginning of Winterhafen ...

More

marsilius

Heidelberg
Marsilius Arkaden

The Marsilius-Arkaden, built in 2016 on the grounds of Heidelberg University Hospital, can trace their origins ...

More

Mainz

Gartenquartier

Die positive Entwicklung der Stadt Mainz erforderte zeitnah die Ausweisung weiterer innerstädtischer Wohnbauflächen.

Es gelang der WTR Projektgesellschaft GmbH, ein achtgeschossiges Bürogebäude mit Tiefgarage – den sog. „Blauen Fritz“ – und ein als Parkplatz genutztes Grundstück an der Wilhelm-Theodor-Römheld-Straße zu erwerben. Die Idee, an einem heterogenen Gewerbestandort eine „Gute Wohnadresse“ für Familien zu schaffen, galt als Herausforderung und zeigte sich als mutige sowie richtige Entscheidung.

Zusammen mit der Lhst. Mainz wurde ein städtebaulicher Wettbewerb ausgelobt, aus dem das Architekturbüro Giesler 2014 als Sieger hervorging. Der städtebauliche Entwurf sieht eine Bebauung mit einzeln stehenden, großen Stadthäusern vor, die sich in zwei Ebenen parallel zur Straße ausrichten. Die Freiräume entwickeln sich entsprechend ihrer Funktion und sind differenziert von öffentlichen Bereichen an der Straße über den halböffentlichen Pocket-Park mit Gemeinschaftsangeboten wie Spielplatz und Grillfläche an den Köpfen bis hin zu den privat gewidmeten Gartenflächen.

Die 100 Eigentumswohnungen wurden vor Fertigstellung zum Großteil an junge Familien, die 93 Mietwohnungen als Foreward-Deal an einen globalen Investor verkauft, sodass das Vorhaben bewusst den Umbau des Geschäftsquartiers zu einem lebendigen, diversifizierten und urbanen Stadtteil unterstützt.

Gartenquartier, Mainz

Weitere Projekte
Welfenhofe

München
Welfenhöfe

Durch einen städtebaulichen Wettbewerb - Siegerentwurf 03 Architekten - wurde die Überbauung eines innerstädtischen ...

Mehr

heimat_hafen

Mainz
Heitmat.Hafen

Die MAG hatte das in einzigartiger Lage am Anfang des Winterhafens gelegene Grundstuck, wo der Main in den Rhein mündet ...

Mehr

marsilius

Heidelberg
Marsilius Arkaden

Die EPPLE Projekt GmbH konnte 2007 den EU-weit ausgeschriebenen Investorenwettbewerb gewinnen.

Mehr